First CrossFit Competition

Happpppppy Sunday Morning, everyone!

I’m sitting here, mildly sore, after my very first CrossFit competition.  It was awesome!!  Our coach/owner decided to host a members-only CrossFit competition at our gym yesterday.  There were 4 divisions:  Men’s RX; Women’s RX; Men’s Scaled; Women’s Scaled.  I was placed in Women’s Scaled along with nine other competitors, and I ended up finishing second overall-yay! I’ll post the WODs and my scores below:

WOD #1

  • 2 minute max rep back squats (50% of body weight)
  • rest 1 minute
  • 2 minute max rep 100 ft shuttle runs
  • rest 1 minute
  • max time isometric hold from the bar (dead hang)

My scores:  37 back squats @ 75lbs; 13 full shuttle runs; 2 minutes, 35 seconds on the hang

WOD #2

6 minute AMRAP @ 55lbs

  • 9 dead lifts
  • 6 hang power clean
  • 3 front squats

My score:  8 complete rounds

WOD #3 (and #4)

WOD #3 was a 4 minute AMRAP

  • 10 burpees over the box @ 16″
  • 15 abmat sit ups
  • 20 box jumps @ 16″
  • 25 shoulder to overhead 45lbs
  • 30 sandbag get ups (20lb sandbag)

AMRAP of single unders

Rest 1 minute then WOD #4 was a 6 minute AMRAP of the same exercises as above.

My scores:  WOD #3 = 75 reps and WOD#4 = 80 reps

I even had my two biggest fans of the day come out to watch:  Sarah and Kori!  Sarah was able to snap this picture (I’m in the middle of the second WOD doing a hang power clean)

CrossFit

Whole Life Challenge update:

We’ve made it through two full weeks so far.  I’m yet to lose any points, despite many temptations.  They finally fixed the weird bonus point situation (the first 12 days our bonus points weren’t showing at all) but now it’s back to being weird again.  I should have 6 bonus points, but it’s showing as a big,fat GOOSE EGG in my bonus points column-boo!!  But really, I every time I think about eating something I’m not supposed to I go through this dialogue in my head that sounds something like this:

Me:  If you eat that [insert non-paleo delicacy] how will you feel afterwards?

Options: satisfied, guilty, remorseful, happy, ashamed (when I have to enter fewer than 5 points in the nutrition category)? Will it be a gateway to eating other non-compliant foods? And then I’ll totally fall off the wagon… ahh!

Usual Decision:  The stress of thinking about how I will feel afterwards has prevented me from “cheating” every time.  It’s almost easier for me to just not do it, then I don’t have to worry about it.

Things I’m learning in this challenge:

  • self discipline
  • eating clean is freaking expensive
  • mobilizing every day really is beneficial
  • Liquid fish oil is disgusting, and I’ll be switching to capsules as soon as possible.
  • Pretty much all mainstream grocery stores (even Whole Foods and TJ’s) are filled with processed foods… #depressing
  • I’m extremely competitive.
  • 95% of my tweets are CrossFit related

In other news…

I registered for my first race since August 2012!  Yep, I am running the Ukrop’s Monument Avenue 10K in Richmond on April 13th (which is also the last day of the Whole Life Challenge) with my childhood best friend, Christine.  We ran it together last year, and it was a blast, so we decided to go for round two!  In years past, I wouldn’t have even needed to train for a 10K race, because I was almost always in shape to be able to run 10+ miles.  BUT, this year is different.  In December I decided to commit myself to doing ONLY CrossFit work outs, because I love them so much, and I starting drinking the [CrossFit] kool-aide big time.  Plus it has been too cold and dark outside to run, and I despise treadmills.

Anyways, I went for a run last Sunday, just to sort of gauge where I am in terms of running more than just a mile.  I felt great.  I was in sync with my usual 8:50ish pace, and my body felt great, and I started to think, “Hey!  I’m not out of  ‘running-shape’ at all!”  Then, I finished up 2 miles, and started realizing that my endurance was way down.  I think that was to be expected though.  So, in the end, I was mildly disappointed that I didn’t feel like I could run 10 miles that day, but I’m happy with what CrossFit has done for me in the past three months, and I’ll just have to work harder and train for this upcoming 10K race.  It’ll be good though; it will ease my back into running.

New recipes for this week:

I’m heading out to go for my first 10K training run right now – 3 miles.  I’ll let you know how it goes!!!

Tagged ,

One thought on “First CrossFit Competition

  1. Congrats on your competition! Second place is awesome! I completely agree, eating clean and healthy is so expensive. I tread checking out at the grocery store, but know I would be even more disappointed if I ate badly!

Leave a Reply

