One Month In…

Hooray! Girl Meets WOD has been live for a little over a month now! woot woot!

And I have made it through one month of the Whole Life Challenge, guess what that means?  Only one month left! Only one more month until I eat a giant cupcake. #yum.

So, in the past month I’ve written nine blog posts.  I started out only writing about once a week, but lately I’ve been averaging about two posts a week.  Pretty solid start if I do say so myself.  I don’t know how many of you out there are reading any of my gibberish… (if you are:  thanks, you’re awesome!!)  I’m thinking I don’t have very many readers or followers at this point for a couple of reasons.  First, I have not been marketing this blog at all.  In fact, I’ve really only told about 15 people that I was even writing a blog.  SinceI’ve wanted to start a blog for such a long time I was/am nervous to taut what I was doing for fear that I would start one and then quickly lose interest or get discouraged because of the lack of followers.  Welllll, I’ve decided I’m not going to let either of those things happen.  Whether this blog has 2 readers or 2 million, I am going to keep writing it as long as my love and interest for CrossFit remains, which it darn well better because I love it!!!

Do I have big plans for this blog though?  Absolutely.  What kind of ambitious, naive 23-year-old would I be if I didn’t?!  Want to know what some of my plans/goals are?

A.  I’m working with a logo company to come up with my very own Girl Meets WOD logo!  I’m hoping it will be ready sometime next week.  It better look legit.

B.  I’ve been doing some research and talking with a few friends about blog design, layout, structure, and theme design.  This thing needs to get legit looking.  I know just enough about blogs and WordPress to be able to write this thing, but I’m not awesome enough to do all of the “web stuff” on my own.  I’m going to have to call in back up for that.

C.  Purchase the blog name as a domain.

D.  Once A thru C are in place (my goal is by May 1), I’m going to start marketing GMW everywhere I can.  I’ll start with the obvious ones– Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, and then see what else I can come up with.

In the mean time, I’m going to read the heck out some books and other blogs, and absorb all the information I can about what it takes to be a successful blogger.  The word “successful” not having a clear meaning for me yet since I’m not sure how I’ll measure my success yet.

All of these plans may seem extremely obvious or even juvenile, but because I’m a perpetual planner, I feel soooo much better when I write down everything that I want to achieve.  Plus, now that I’m publishing it on the blog, I’m more likely to hold myself accountable for these meeting my deadlines.

And just incase anyone is interested, my long-terms goals are to begin posting original WODs and Paleo recipes that I’ve come up with all on my own.

Alright, now that the business-y side of this post is over with.  Let’s get down to what’s really important…

THIRTEEN POINT TWOOOOO!!

Annie and Lindsey were awesome!  They destroyed that WOD, and made it look effortless.  While I did not manage to get 12 rounds like Annie, I still enjoyed this work out.

I decided to do it bright and early Thursday morning during our 6:30am class.  When they announced the WOD, my initial thought was, “75lbs is going to be heavy [on the shoulder to head] but at least it’s only 5 reps.” Well, I was right.  It was heavy. I don’t know what my deal is.  I’m wondering if I’m not increasing my weight enough each week or challenging myself the way I should be, but I feel like after almost 4 months of CrossFit I should be lifting more than that.  Maybe I’m just being picky, I don’t know.  Anyways, I ended up getting 176 reps.  Almost 6 complete rounds.  Hey, I’ll take it.  This was a sprint of a work out, and if I were stronger I definitely think I could’ve rolled through it.  BUT, my thought is: room for improvement.  I’ll get there, I’ve just got to keep at it, which I will.  Super excited for 13.3 though.  I’m predicting double unders or pull ups both of which have yet to master.

Another baby milestone for this week– I made it to the 6:30am class every single morning this week.  YES!  I’ve always been a morning person, so it’s not like it’s a big deal for me to get up early, but it did feel good to make it to the morning class every day this week.  I like our morning crew. We are small and pretty quiet, but we get it done. #BOOOM

In other news… Guess what movie comes to theatres this Friday?!  MURPH!!!!

Murph was the first CrossFit WOD I’d ever heard of, thanks Ian and Jacob.  And when they told me what the work out was, I thought, “There’s no way I could ever do that.”  I still haven’t done Murph as of right now, but it’ll be coming soon. I’m sure of it.  Anyways, I’ve already asked the local movie theatre if they’ll be playing Murph on Friday, but unfortunately, they won’t know until Tuesday.  I guess I’ll just have to wait and see!

In case you don’t have friends who love CrossFit, the Navy, and America: “Murph” is a CrossFit HERO work out.  It is named for Michael P. Murphy, a heroic Navy SEAL, who was killed in action in 2005.  He is a true American Hero.

The Movie:

The WOD:

For time:
1 mile Run
100 Pull-ups
200 Push-ups
300 Squats
1 mile Run

Everyone should definitely go see the movie if it’s playing in your area. It’ll no doubt inspire you, and remind you how fortunate we are to have such amazing military service men and women defending our country.

Thanks for reading!  Until next time, WOD on!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

