thirteen point four

Howdy Folks! I hope everyone had a pleasant Monday. I started off my Monday with a morning work out of:

5×5 Front Squats (heavy as possible) I started out at 65# and worked up to 105# by the last set

WOD:

12 minute AMRAP

  • 10 thrusters 115/85#
  • 15 Hand Release Push Ups

I used 65# for the thrusters. HEAVY. The last time I did Fran I only did 45# so 65# was a nice step up, but I’ve decided if I want to get stronger, I’m going to have to step outside my comfort zone and add weight even if it’s “heavy.” CrossFit isn’t ever going to get “easier” I’m just going to get stronger which needs to START.RIGHT. NOW!

Let’s rewind to last week/weekend.

THIRTEEN POINT FOUR

The WOD:

AMRAP in 7 minutes

5 pound Clean and jerk, 3 reps
3 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 6 reps
6 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 9 reps
9 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 12 reps
12 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 15 reps
15 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 18 reps

Per usual, I did 13.4 Thursday morning. I knew 95# was going to be tough because my heaviest logged clean and heaviest logged jerk were both 75# so adding 20# was going to be interesting. I knew I would have to get my toes to bar one at a time, but I was up for the challenge. 7 minutes isn’t so bad.

I ended up doing split jerks with the weight. I felt pretty good about them, it was definitely heavy, but the split helped me get it over head better than a regular jerk. I no rep’d the crap out of the T2B. If the exercise was called “toes to 6 inches away from the bar” I would have been golden. I just need to practice. I do really well with a big kip, but I can’t string them together yet. All in due time. CrossFit wouldn’t be as fun if I was super sweet at everything. #duh Anyways, I ended up with 22 reps in 7 minutes.

Saturday morning I did 13.4 again at Brickhouse CrossFit with Jacob and Andrew. Same story as Monday except I moved through my weight a littler faster. Toes to bar were still really rough, but I’ll get them. I closed out my 7 minutes with 31 total reps. 8 more than the first time, I’ll take it.

I’m a little sad that this week is the last week of the CrossFit Open. I guess it will be back to regular work outs after next week. I make it sound like that’s a bad thing, but really isn’t. The Open is just really, really fun and it has shown me how vast, diverse, exciting, and AWESOME the CrossFit Community really is. I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am for the Games though. It’s too bad North Carolina isn’t closer to California! I am debating making the trip up to DC for the Mid-Atlantic Regionals weekend-June 7-9th. I saw a link on the games website about signing up to be a volunteer during Regionals. Has anyone ever done that before or would I have more fun just going up there and watching? Decisions…decisions…

My bloggity-blog game plan: I noticed that I typically pack in a lot of info and topics within each post that I publish. That’s lame. Whenever I go to the blogs that I love and see a lonngggg post, sometimes I just skim through and hit the highlights. I’m going to try to write smaller chunks and just post more frequently. That way I can touch on multiple topics without jumping all over the place and losing people’s interest. Sound good?

Alright friends, I’ll catch ya later!!

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

