Custom Stuff for CrossFitters

It’s Tuesday!  I want to talk about WODs for a hot second.  Yesterday was a “birthday WOD.”  Our coach does this awesome thing where he lets our gym members choose the WOD on their birthday.  They usually suck, but that just goes to show how legit our gym members are, we like to challenge each other.

Monday’s WOD

31 minute AMRAP (longest AMRAP of all time)

  • Run 800m
  • 31 overhead walking lunges with a plate 45#/25#
  • 31 burpee pull ups

Such a good WOD.  Good because it was HARD.  By the end of the work out I was legitimately exhausted.  I made it through 3 complete rounds.  I started to head out the door to start my run but I only had 10 seconds left, so mostly I was just thinking to myself: where do you think you’re going?  I modified my burpee pull ups since I’m still lacking in the pull up department.  Although I’m pretty sure I did a jumping pull up yesterday.  My legs were flailing around and I’m not sure that my chin actually made it above the bar, but hey that’s progress.

Tuesday’s WOD = March Madness WOD

Our coach made everyone fill out a bracket before the first game started, and then based on your predictions determined what you had to do for the WOD.  AND… if you didn’t complete a bracket you had to do the entire work out.

For time:

  • 64 burpees (32 games x 2 burpees)
  • 80 wall balls (16 games x 5 WB)
  • 56 KB swings (8 games x 7 KBS)
  • 40 push up (4 games x 10 PU)
  • 40 air squats (2 games x 20 squats)
  • 1 mile run (championship game)

I must have had a pretty good bracket.  My WOD looked more like this:

  • 24 burpees
  • 30 wall balls
  • 28 kettle bell swings
  • 30 push ups
  • 20 air squats
  • NO mile run, because I picked Louisville to win- good job Kayla!

I will say though, I was especially tired this morning.  Not sure why.  I was also really sore–I’m thinking it was from the overhead lunges yesterday.  I’ve been bouncing around the idea of taking creatine powder and maybe protein powder, but I just can’t decide.  I feel like I hear both good and bad things about them.  Plus,  there are so many different options out there I’m not sure how to decide which will be right for me.  Ah, the world of supplements, so overwhelming!

On to that custom stuff that I really wanted to talk about…

Have you heard of Custom Fit Meals?  THEY ARE DELICIOUS.  And convenient.  I first noticed CFM while working out at my first CrossFit box in Winston. I saw the fridge and always wondered what it was or how to order, but I never really took the time to ask questions or do any research.  Then, when I switched to the box in High Point, I saw the same refrigerator again.  To be honest, I hadn’t realized that Custom Fit Meals was a “chain.”  It caught my attention seeing it again, and our coach posted about ordering meals on the gym website every once in a while.  I remember checking out the website and thinking it looked cool, but was a little put off by the price.  Well, then I started averaging out how much money I was spending on groceries per week to cook paleo meals for one… EXPENSIVE, that’s how much.  Plus, I love cooking, but I was getting a little tired of eating the same two meals the entire week.  I decide to give CFM another look.  Before ordering, I asked my coach what he thought of the meals.  Did they taste good?  When are they delivered?  How big are the portions?  Is it worth it?  (I ask a lot questions, about everything) After finding out everything that I needed to know I made the decision to try it out.

The Pros:

  • A different, delicious, home-cooked meal every day!  HOORAY!
  • Super convenient (I don’t spend any time prepping, which is great for the weekends when I travel)
  • I can pick up the meals Monday morning when I work out at 6:30
  • I order the large portion meals.  5 for $50 and then I split each meal in half, thus maximizing my meals so that I have 10 instead of 5.

The Cons (these aren’t very legit cons):

  • I’m not preparing my own paleo recipes, which is only a con because I really enjoy cooking
  • I don’t know what anything is going to taste like before I try it.  This is difficult for someone like me because  I don’t take a lot of risks and I’m infamous for being an extremely picky eater–I just started eating green beans and sweet potatoes within the past 4 years. I was missing out!

I have really been impressed with Custom Fit Meals since trying them in the beginning of March.  I’ve ordered every week except for two weeks.  Once because I had a lot of left over food that I needed to use, and the second time because almost every menu item had “fennel seeds” in the recipes.  Kayla hates fennel seeds. They’re weird and taste like licorice…gross.

I’ve had three weeks worth of meals so far, and out of all of those, there was only 1 meal that I just didn’t like- it was a banana breakfast loaf thing. The description made it sound like it was going to be AWESOME, and I was so excited to try it because I have a weird obsession with bananas, but it just didn’t do it for me.

They deliver to a lot of CrossFit boxes up and down the east coast.  If your box does CFM and you’ve been thinking about trying them, I would highly recommend that you do so.  And if your box doesn’t have CFM, talk to your box owner to see if they can start!

You know what else can be custom?

REEBOK CROSSFIT NANOS!!!! I love my nanos.  I just have the regular black/pink ones, but they are SO comfortable, and so perfect for CrossFit WODs.  They aren’t my favorite when we run during WODs, but that’s okay.

So, last Saturday night, Jacob fell asleep on the sofa, and I was bored.  What does a CrossFit blogger do when she’s bored?  She designs custom work out shoes on the Reebok website, obviously.  Want to see some of my creations?

'Merica Nanos

‘Merica Nanos

Do Work Nanos

Do Work Nanos

Go Hard Nanos

Go Hard Nanos

Girly Nanos

Girly Nanos

Pretty sweet right?  If I get a new pair, I’ll probably go with the ‘Merica ones.  They’re my favorite.

Alright! It’s almost time for New Girl to come on at 9:00!  Hope everyone is having a super fantastic week, and that your weather has been as nice as mine here in NC!!!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

