10K & Podcasts

Helllllooooo Friends.  I feel like this week has just been three Mondays in a row, I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday.  Sheesh. So a few things…

First, my cousin Kathryn ran the Boston Marathon.  She is safe- thank the Lord. Chelsie (my roommate) and I were actually at work walking to Starbucks, and Chelsie got a Fox News alert on her phone stating that there were two explosions at the finish line of the Boston Marathon.  I immediately went into a mild state of panic.  I didn’t have my phone on me so I couldn’t call or text anyone, but as soon as I got back to my desk I texted Kathryn and her sister (my other cousin) Jen to see if anyone knew anything.  Then I called my Dad and had him call my aunt.  It took about 5 minutes but I finally heard back from everyone.  My Aunt was able to talk to Kathryn who was about a half a mile back from the finish line when the bombs went off.  THANK GOODNESS.  It turns out she was only half a mile back because she made an unexpected water stopped at mile 25.  Scary.  That’s all I have to say.

I wish I could say that I was shocked or that it is so hard to believe that something like that would happen, but to to honest, after the significant increase in public shootings/bombs/explosions etc. in the past 5 years it’s not all that surprising. Is that not the most depressing/saddening thing in the world?  Does that make what happened any less devastating or despicable?  absolutely not.  I think I’ve just resigned to the fact that, I’ll never understand what in the world would possess someone to want to kill and hurt people in such a malicious way. It just makes me so sad.

Second, my BFF Christine and I ran the Ukrop’s Monument Ave 10K in Richmond on Saturday.  It was a BEAUTIFUL day for the race. Last year it was rainy and gross, so 70’s and sunny was such a major improvement.  Our time wasn’t really anything to brag about – 59:30 but that’s okay, we  just ran the race to be able to run together and do something fun.  The race is HUGE though there were actually 40,000 participants.  SO MANY people.  It’s such a great race though, there are live bands about every half mile and there are so many beautiful historic homes along the way.

PODCASTS.  Jacob is probably sick of hearing me talk about podcasts. I literally start every phone conversation with, “So, I was listening to this podcast today and they said that…” But I love them!  They are so informative!  It’s like being able to read a book while I’m working.  GENIUS!  Anyways, I told ya’ll about Barbell Shrugged last week which is definitely still my favorite, but I wanted to share a few other ones that you guys should check out too.

Fat Burning Man with Abel James

source: apple.com

source: apple.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He has a lot of great, smart people on his show.  The podcast topics range from talking about supplements to paleo to just general good health practices.  Abel is a wonderful interviewer, and he asks all of the right questions.

Super Nutrition Academy Health Class with Yuri Elkaim

source:  apple.com

source: apple.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yuri is awesome!  He is a registered holistic nutritionist, former professional soccer player, and Canadian! His podcast topics are usually geared towards nutrition.  I share a lot of same views that he has so it’s great to hear him confirm all of my beliefs and go in to depth about why and how certain things affect us the way that they do.

The Paleo Solution Podcast  with Robb Wolf

source:  robbwolf.com

source: robbwolf.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s Robb Wolf, what else do you want me to say?  This guy is practically the Godfather of the Paleo movement.  He’s always talking about the latest and greatest when it comes to nutrition and every once in a while he throws in a fitness related podcast, mostly CrossFit related.  They can get off topic sometimes but it doesn’t matter because they are really funny.

Paleohacks with Clark Danger 

Last week was the first episode of this podcast, but I really enjoyed it.  Clark Danger had Dave Asprey on the show and he was actually promoting his book:  Better Baby Book .  He shared some great general health information, and had some really good info about how to “work out” your brain.  Stuff’s legit!

Your homework for this week:  Go listen to one of these podcasts!  You will not regret it!!! They’re especially great for long commutes in the morning or traveling in general!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

