Nutrition Documentaries

Hellloooooo Everybody!! It’s almost the weekend, and thank goodness for that.  I am starting this post from my desk at work- what a great way to break up my work day!

Do you like documentaries?  I didn’t think I did.  Documentaries sound boring, I’d rather watch a movie.  Well, FALSE.  Kayla now loves documentaries.  ESPECIALLY  food and nutrition documentaries.  And I suppose I would enjoy a documentary about CrossFit and or fitness but, I’ve yet to come across any of those.  I have however found three PHENOMENAL documentaries about food and nutrition: Hungry for ChangeFood Matters, and Food, Inc.

I think some if not all of these are on Netflix, but I don’t have an account (reconsidering this now though…) so I rented the documentaries on iTunes.  I think each one was like $4 for a 24 hour rental.  Not too bad.

Hungry for Change was definitely my favorite.  It was the most informative, the most interesting, and the most moving. Very powerful stuff. I loved this documentary because of how they present their ideas.  They don’t push the paleo diet or any specific type of diet really.  It is really just about how BAD these processed “foods” really are for us.  How we aren’t even really eating real foods anything we are eating “food-like products.”  YUCK!  But it’s so true.  Think about it…there is nothing natural about a cheez-it.  I’m pretty there isn’t even any real cheese in that cracker.  I don’t want to give it all away, but this documentary also discusses the chemicals that are added to our foods that alter and change the foods that we eat.  GO WATCH THIS!!

Food Matters is the prequel (if you will) to Hungry for Change.  I enjoyed Food Matters, but it highlighted a lot of facts/ideas that I already knew about.  Specially, the alternative treatments for cancer and other diseases/illnesses.  This information is what ALWAYS gets me.  Don’t get my wrong, doctors and modern medicine have their place, BUT it really burns me up when I go to the doctor and leave with a bag filled of medicine samples and three prescriptions.  I mean come on!  I’m very much a believer in treating the cause not the symptoms.  I honestly haven’t been to the doctor in a very long time because I would much rather try a natural/holistic approach to remedying whatever issues I have instead of using drugs.

I do have a good POSITIVE dentist story though, which is actually from last week.  I’d been having this weird taste in my mouth for about 5 days, so I decided to make a dentist appointment (I’ve only ever been to one dentist my whole life so it was a big deal for me to go see a dentist in NC, one who I knew nothing about, ugh…) Side note- I’m a little OCD about my teeth. My braces were expensive, so I like to keep my pearly whites looking their best. SO, during my dentist visit I explained what was going on, the hygienist checked out my teeth–didn’t see anything abnormal, the dentist came in and said the same thing–absolutely nothing wrong with my teeth.  BUT THEN, he said–Hey! It could be something in your stomach, why don’t you try drinking some apple cider vinegar. So, I did.  It was miserable.  Drinking apple cider vinegar is gross. But it did work! The weird taste went away.

Food, Inc. is SERIOUS. This is like deal-real documentary stuff.  They basically expose various MAJOR food supplying entities (beef, poultry, soybean, corn, etc. companies) and uncover all of the unethical, terrible things that they do without us ever knowing about it.  There is ONE good farmer that they interview though, and guess what? He’s from Virginia (my home state)!  Heck yeah!  It’s definitely worth checking out though.  You’ll be appalled, and you won’t want to buy anything from a grocery store ever again.  Just saying.

So, if you have some extra time on your hands this weekend, I would say, check out these sweet documentaries.  Hopefully they’ll inspire you to make some positive changes in your life.  Let me know what you think if you watch!

 

Leave a Reply

