Week One 21DSD: Check

Hey there!  I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend!  Happy Mother’s Day to all of the wonderful, beautiful mothers out there, especially mine!

I’m one third of the way through the 21 Day Sugar Detox! Whew!  I feel great.  There have been cravings, and my snack choices are beginning to bore me, but I’m confident that this experience is going to be worth it.  Really, my whole problem is moderation and control.  It’s fine to eat fruit, just not 10 servings in one day (which I’ve done before).  It also takes a lot of prep work and planning.  If you go to the grocery store without an idea of what you’re going to eat for the week, sometimes it’s easy to get carried away and buy a ton of fruit.  Then it’s like a vicious cycle because you have to race against the clock to eat the fruit before it goes bad.  That’s when you look up and realize you just ate a whole thing of raspberries in one sitting–oops.  CONTROL is key.  Eat what your body needs to fuel itself, eat until you’re full, and that’s it.  If you’re providing your body with enough of the right nutrients that it needs then you won’t “feel” hungry or have cravings for junk.

Also, increasing my water intake has also made a huge difference.  It really works people!  Half your body weight in ounces PER DAY!

My meal planning for this week looks something like this:

Breakfast = egg muffins with:

  • 10 eggs
  • 6 small sweet peppers (red,yellow,orange)
  • 1 lb of Italian sausage
  • a lot of Kale (not sure how much exactly)
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • a little bit of onion
  • salt & pepper

They turned out great except I think the zucchini made the muffins kind of soggy or watery?  I guess zucchini retain a lot of water? Anyways, I think I’ll pass on using zucchini next time I made egg muffins.

Lunch = Carnitas topped with avocado

Dinner = left over chicken and broccoli for Monday/Tuesday and then turkey chili for Wednesday/Thursday.

Snacks = Applegate organic turkey slices, rosemary chili almonds, carrots & almond butter, zucchini fries

In other news…

I signed up for an Olympic Weight Lifting class at our box, and it starts this week.  I am so excited!  This is going to be a new/different experience for me, and I’m really hoping to learn a lot and improve my lift form, technique, and strength.  Looking for some PR’s in my future!!

That’s all for now! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

